Skip to main content
xYOU DESERVE INDEPENDENT, CRITICAL MEDIA. We want readers like you. Support independent critical media.

Over 180 Cultural, Literary Persons Endorse Letter to PM by 49 Celebrities, Condemn FIR

Naseeruddin Shah, Mallika Sarabhai, Nayantara Sahgal among over 150 cultural community leaders flay harassment by ‘misusing the courts’.
Over 180 Cultural, Literary Persons Endorse

New Delhi: As many as 185 members of Cultural Community, including actor Naseeruddin Shah, dancer Mallika Sarabhai, authors Ashok Vajpeyi, Nayantara Sahgal and Shashi Deshpande, historian Romila Thapar, singer T.M. Krishna, and artist Vivan Sundaram, have endorsed an open letter to Prime Minister Narendra Modi by 49 eminent citizens against mob lynching, and have condemned the FIR against them in Muzaffarpur in Bihar, alleging "sedition" among other charges.

Read the full statement below:

An FIR has been lodged against forty-nine of our colleagues in the cultural community, simply because they performed their duty as respected members of civil society. They wrote an open letter to the Prime Minister, expressing concern about mob lynching in our country.

Can this be called an act of sedition? Or is harassment by misusing the courts a ploy to silence citizens’ voices?

All of us, as members of the Indian cultural community, as citizens of conscience, condemn such harassment. We do more: we endorse every word of the letter our colleagues wrote to the Prime Minister. This is why we share their letter here once again, and appeal to the cultural, academic and legal communities to do the same. This is why more of us will speak every day. Against mob lynching. Against the silencing of people’s voices. Against the misuse of courts to harass citizens.

A Mangai Ira Bhaskar Rajan Gurukkal
Aarti Sethi J Devika Rajashri Dasgupta
Abha Dev Habib Javed Malick Rajendra Chenni
Abhishek Kaicker Jawari Mal Parakh Rajendra Sharma
Abhishek Majumdar Jeet Thayil Rajesh Joshi
Achin Vanaik Jerry Pinto Ranbir Kaleka
Achyutanand Mishra Jyothi A Ranjit Hoskote
Ajitha GS Jyoti Punwani Ravikant
Akeel Bilgrami K Satchidanandan Rekha Awasthi
Amit Bhaduri K Srilata Renu Ramanath
Ammu Joseph Karthik Venkatesh Ritu Menon
Amrita Pande Kavery Nambisan Romila Thapar
Anand Pradhan KG Sankara Pillai Ruchi Chaturvedi
Anand Teltumbde KP Fabian Rukmini Bhaya Nair
Ananya Parikh KP Jayasankar S Raghunandana
Ania Loomba KP Ramanunni Saba Dewan
Anil Janvijay Krishnan Unni P Saba Hasan
Anitha Thampi KS Parthasarathy Sabeena Gadihoke
Anjali Monteiro Kunal Sen Saleem Peeradina
Arun Dev Leela Jacinto Salil Chaturvedi
Arundhati Dhuru MA Baby Salim Yusufji
Arundhati Ghosh Madhu Bhaduri Sandeep Pandey
Arunima Sehgal Madhusree Dutta Sandhya Taksale
Ashok Bhaumik Mallika Sarabhai Sanjeev Kumar
Ashok Vajpeyi Mangad Rathnakaran Saumya Chakrabarti
Ashutosh Kumar Mangalesh Dabral Savithri Rajeevan
Atamjit Singh Manishi Jani SG Vasudev
Ayesha Kidwai Maria Couto Shafey Kidwai
B Rajeevan Maya Rao Shamsul Islam
Badri Raina Merlin Moli Shamya Dasgupta
Bajrang Bihari MMP Singh Shantanu Ray Chaudhuri
Bali singh Moinak Biswas Shashi Deshpande
Balvant Kaur Moloyashree Hashmi Sherna Dastur
Bharat Tiwari Moolchandra Gautam Shoma A Chatterjji
Bhasha Singh MP Pratheesh Siddharth
Bodhisatv Mridula Garg Sonia Jabbar
BRP Bhaskar Mridula Koshy Sreyashi Dastidar
Chaman Lal MV Narayanan Subhasini Ali
Chanchal Chauhan Naina Dayal Subhasis Bandyopadhyay
Chandrakant Patil Nancy Adajania Subodh Varma
Civic Chandran Nandita Narain Sudeshna Sengupta
CK Meena Naseeruddin Shah Sudhanva Deshpande
Damodar Mauzo Natasha Badhwar Sudhir Chandra
Devaki Khanna Nayantara Sahgal Sumangala Damodaran
Devendra Choube Neelan Premji Sunil P Elayidom
Dilip Borkar Neelima Sharma Svati Joshi
EV Ramakrishnan Neeraj Malik Syantani Chatterjee
Faisal Khan Nilanjan Mukhopadhyay Syeda Hameed
Gauhar Raza Nilanjana Bhowmick TM Krishna
Gayatri Spivak NP Chekkutty Udaya Kumar
Geeta Kapur NS Madhavan Vaasanthi Sundaram
Geetanjali Shree Nupur Asher Valay Singh
Girdhar Rathi Pamela Philipose Venkitesh Ramakrishnan
Gita Jayaraj PK Parakkadavu Vibha Maurya
Githa Hariharan PK Pokker Vijay Prashad
Gyan Prakash PN Gopikrishnan Vijaya Venkataraman
Hansda Sowvendra Shekhar Poile Sengupta Vishnu Nagar
Harsh Mander Prabir Purkayastha Vivan Sundaram
Hemlata Mahishwar Pradeep Chakraverti Vivek Narayanan
Himanjali Sankar Pramod Ranjan Yousuf Saeed
Hiralal Rajasthani Purushottam Agrawal Zoya Hasan
Ina Puri Rahman Abbas  

Text of open letter written to Prime Minister Modi on 23 July 2019 by 49 eminent citizens, including Aparna Sen, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, Shyam Benegal, Anurag Kashyap, Ashis Nandy and Ramachandra Guha:

We, as peace loving and proud Indians, are deeply concerned about a number of tragic events that have been happening in recent times in our beloved country.

Our Constitution describes India as a secular socialist democratic republic where citizens of all religions, ethnicities, gender and castes are equal. Hence, to ensure that every citizen enjoys the rights given to her/him by the Constitution, our submission is:

1. The lynching of Muslims, Dalits and other minorities must be stopped immediately. We were shocked to learn from the NCRB (National Crime Records Bureau) reports that there have been no less than 840 instances of atrocities against Dalits in the year 2016, and a definite decline in the percentage of convictions.

Further, 254 religious identity-based hate crimes were reported between January 1, 2009, and October 29, 2018, where at least 91 persons were killed and 579 were injured ( database, October 30, 2018). The Citizen's Religious Hate-Crime Watch recorded that Muslims, (14% of India's population) were the victims in 62% for cases, and Christians (2% of the population), in 14% cases. About 90% of these attacks were reported after May 2014, when your Government assumed power nationally.

You have criticized such lynchings in Parliament Mr. Prime Minister, but that is not enough! What action has actually been taken against the perpetrators? We strongly feel that such offences should be declared non-bailable, and that exemplary punishment should be meted out swiftly and surely. If life imprisonment without parole can be the sentence in cases of murder, why not for lynchings, which are even more heinous? No citizen should have to live in fear in his/her own country!

Regrettably "Jai Sri Ram" has become a provocative 'war-cry' today that leads to law and order problems, and many lynchings take place in its name. It is shocking to see so much violence perpetrated in the name of religion! These are not the Middle Ages! The name of Ram is sacred to many in the majority community of India. As the highest Executive of this country, you must put a stop to the name of Ram being defiled in this manner.

2. There is no democracy without dissent. People should not be branded ‘anti-national’ or 'urban Naxal' and incarcerated because of dissent against the Government. Article 19 of the Constitution of India protects freedom of speech and expression of which dissent is an integral part.

Criticising the ruling party does not imply criticising the nation. No ruling party is synonymous with the country where it is in power. It is only one of the political parties of that country. Hence anti-government stands cannot be equated with anti-national sentiments. An open environment where dissent is not crushed, only makes for a stronger nation.

We hope our suggestions will be taken in the spirit that they are meant – as Indians genuinely concerned with, and anxious about, the fate of our nation.

Get the latest reports & analysis with people's perspective on Protests, movements & deep analytical videos, discussions of the current affairs in your Telegram app. Subscribe to NewsClick's Telegram channel & get Real-Time updates on stories, as they get published on our website.

Subscribe Newsclick On Telegram