Skip to main content
xYOU DESERVE INDEPENDENT, CRITICAL MEDIA. We want readers like you. Support independent critical media.

Parliament: Rajya Sabha Adjourned Twice as Opposition Protest Continues Over Price Rise

In Lok Sabha, 4 Congress MPs -- Manickam Tagore, TN Prathapan, Jothimani, Ramya Haridas --- suspended for rest of session.
Both Houses of Parliament Adjourned After Opposition Protests over Pegasus Snooping

New Delhi: Rajya Sabha proceedings were adjourned for the second time on Monday till 4 pm after unrelenting protests by Opposition members seeking a discussion on price rise.

When the House reassembled at 3 pm, Sambit Patra, who was chairing the proceedings, invited NCP leader Fauzia Khan to initiate a debate on the Calling Attention Motion on "the situation arising out of rising cases of post Covid complications."

But the Opposition members, including the Congress and TMC, continued their vociferous protest and later stormed into the well shouting slogans.

"I request all of you to go back to your seats. Let us have a discussion. It is very important. The opposition had demanded it and the chairman had allowed it," the Chair said and asked the NCP leader to start the debate.

NCP leader Fauzia Khan said she won't be able to speak when the House is not in order. "Please put the House in order," she said.

She also said, "The Opposition has issued a notice requesting for a discussion on price rise, please take that."

As protesting Opposition members continued to be in the well, the Chair adjourned the House till 4 pm.

Earlier as the House met at 2 pm, the opposition parties insisted on suspension of scheduled business and taking up of discussion on inflation.   

However, Deputy Chairman Harivansh said the House would take up Calling Attention Motion on the "situation arising out of rising case of post Covid complications".

The Opposition members trooped into  the well raising slogans, forcing the deputy chairman to adjourn the proceedings till 3 PM.

Before adjournment of the House, Leader of the Opposition and Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge charged that the treasury benches were running away from holding discussions on this important issue of price rise.

"Price rise is a big issue. Why the government is running away from discussion" Kharge asked.

To this, Leader of the House Piyush Goyal said the government wants to have discussion on this issue. He said Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman was suffering from Covid. The minister would like to participate in the discussion and respond to the issues raised.

TMC member Derek'O Brien pointed out that there has not been a single discussion under rule 267 ((Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha) in the last five years.

 The proceedings have been disrupted since the beginning of the Monsoon Session on July 18.

‘LoP Kharge Disrespected at Murmu’s Oath Ceremony’

Several opposition leaders on Monday wrote to the Rajya Sabha chairman claiming that Leader of Opposition in the House Mallikarjun Kharge was not accorded a seat commensurate with his position during the swearing-in ceremony of President Droupadi Murmu.

Murmu was sworn in as the 15th President of India at a function in the central hall of Parliament on Monday.

The leaders, including those from the Congress, Nationalist Congress Party, Trinamool Congress, Shiv Sena, Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India (Marxist) and Rashtriya Janata Dal, were signatories to the letter and expressed shock at “deliberate disrespect” shown to Kharge.

Congress leader Jairam Ramesh shared the letter on Twitter and said, "Letter submitted to Hon'ble Chairman, Rajya Sabha by all Opposition Parties (including TMC) just now."

"Today, at the swearing-in ceremony of the Hon'ble President, Shri Mallikarjun Kharge, Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha was made to sit in a seat not commensurate with the position he holds," the opposition leaders said in their letter.

"We are writing to express our shock and protest at this deliberate disrespect shown to a very senior leader violating the warrant of precedence and not in accordance with protocol courtesies due to him," the leaders said.

Lok Sabha: 4 Cong MPs Suspended

New Delhi: Four Congress MPs were suspended from Lok Sabha for the rest of the session for displaying placards and disrupting proceedings despite a warning by Speaker Om Birla.

Amid continuous disruptions, the Chair named Congress MPs Manickam Tagore, TN Prathapan, Jothimani and Ramya Haridas.

Later, Parliamentary Affair Minister Pralhad Joshi moved a resolution to suspend the four for the rest of the session.

The House then passed the resolution by a voice vote and Rajendra Agarwal who was chairing the proceedings announced their suspension. He later adjourned the proceedings for the rest of the day.

Get the latest reports & analysis with people's perspective on Protests, movements & deep analytical videos, discussions of the current affairs in your Telegram app. Subscribe to NewsClick's Telegram channel & get Real-Time updates on stories, as they get published on our website.

Subscribe Newsclick On Telegram