Skip to main content
xYOU DESERVE INDEPENDENT, CRITICAL MEDIA. We want readers like you. Support independent critical media.

Academic & Cultural Boycott of Israel (IcACBI)*


Palestine belongs to the Arabs in the same sense that England belongs to the English or France to the French. It is wrong and inhuman to impose the Jews on the Arabs. What is going on in Palestine today cannot be justified by any moral code of conduct. Mahatma Gandhi Editorial, The Harijan, 26-11-1938

tere aaqa ne kiyaa ek filistin barbaad mere zakhmoN ne kiye kitne filistin aabaad Your master brought to ruin one Palestine But so many Palestines have been greened by my wounds

Faiz Ahmed Faiz

Dear Friend,

Both the academia and the arts are profoundly rooted in the values of democracy, equality and justice, and the pursuit of excellence in both these fields has meaning only if it is imbued with conscience. As  Indian academics, intellectuals and artists in the decolonised world, we have historically played a crucial role in the liberation of our peoples, and to this day continue to lend our voices in support to all those who are struggling to be rid of the yoke of colonialism and foreign domination.

In a reality in which the Israeli state daily tramples on the academic freedom and cultural life of the Palestinian people, a continued association with the instruments of such a state is unconscionable. When Palestinian students and teachers are not allowed to reach their universities because of permit laws and checkpoints, universities and schools are levelled by bombs and tanks, food, textbooks, and medical supplies are prohibited from entering Gaza, and artistic events are closed down in Jerusalem, none of the foundational principles on which academic and cultural contact are based can ever be fulfilled.

In response to the Palestinian Campaign for the Academic and Cultural Boycott of Israel we have come together to form the India Chapter of this international movement. Just as it was in the case of the international call against South Africa in the apartheid years, we are confident that this boycott will be effective in contributing to international pressure on Israelto abandon its oppression and expulsion of the indigenous population based on military aggression, legal discrimination and persecution and economic stranglehold.

We appeal to you, Indian academics and artists, to join us in this cause, which has become even more urgent today, when our nation’s foreign policy has abandoned the ideals of self-determination and anti-colonialism. We stand in firm and relentless opposition to India’s strategic, scientific, military, and economic relations with Israel and are determined to reverse these morally repugnant policies of the Indian state. Our act of solidarity with the Palestinian struggle is a reaffirmation that the Indian people have not abandoned the Palestinian people or forgotten their own history. This is to request you to join us in the India Chapter Palestinian Campaign for the Academic and Cultural Boycott of Israel. We also request you to let us know your friends and colleagues we may send this letter to.

Yours sincerely,


1  Upendra Baxi  (Patron)

2  Vina Mazumdar  (Patron)

3  Ayesha  Kidwai  (Jawaharlal Nehru University, Convenor)

4  Gargi  Sen  (Filmmaker, Convenor)

5  Mohan Rao   (Jawaharlal Nehru University, Convenor)

6  Janaki Abraham  (Delhi University)

7  Ayisha Abraham   (Artist)

8  Dinesh Abrol  (Scientist, NISTADS)

9  Aijaz  Ahmad (New Delhi)

10  S  Anand (Publisher)

11  G  Arunima  (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

12  Pushpa M.Bhargava  (Scientist)

13. Ira Bhaskar (Film maker)

14  Prashant Bhushan  (Lawyer)

15  Praful Bidwai (Journalist)

16  Uma Chakravarthy  (Delhi University)

17  Anand Chakravarthy  (Delhi University)

18  C.P Chandrasekhar  (JNU)

19  Indira Chandrasekhar (Publisher)

20  Kamal Mitra Chenoy  (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

21  Anuradha Chenoy   (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

22  Rohan D’Souza  (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

23  Satish Deshpande (Delhi University)

24  Shashi Deshpande  (Writer)

25  Vasanthi Devi  (Former Vice-Chancellor, Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Tamilnadu)

26  Saba  Dewan  (Film maker)

27  Jayati  Ghosh (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

28  Githa Hariharan (Writer)

29  Zoya  Hasan  (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

30  Moloyshree  Hashmi  Theatre Person

31  Mushirul Hassan    (Former Vice Chancellor, Jamia Millia Islamia)

32  T  Jayraman  (Tata Institute of Social Studies)

33  Mary John  (Centre for Women’s Development Studies)

34  Amita  Kanekar  (Writer)

35  Kalpana  Kannabiran  (Hyderabad University)

36  Nuzhat  Kazmi (Jamia Millia Islamia)

37  Farida  Khan (Jamia Millia Islamia)

38  Romi  Khosla  (Architect)

39  Brijesh  Kumar  Theatre Person

40  Ein  Lall (Filmmaker)

41  S.N. Malakar (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

42  Rita   Manchanda (South Asia Forum for Human Rights, Kathmandu)

43  Harsh  Mander (Centre for Equity Studies, New Delhi)

44  Satyajit  Mayor  (Scientist)

45  Meena  Menon (Writer, Focus on Global South)

46  Nivedita  Menon (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

47  Ritu  Menon  (Publisher)

48  Saeed  Mirza  (Filmmaker)

49  Jeroo Mulla  (Sophia Polytechnic, Mumbai)

50  Seema Mustafa  (Journalist)

51  Gautam  Navlakha  (Economic and Political Weekly)

52  Aditya Nigam  (Centre for the Study of Developing Studies, Delhi)

53  Rajni  Palriwala  (Delhi University)

54  Prabhat Patnaik  (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

55  Anand  Patwardhan  (Filmmaker)

56  Pamela Philippose  (Journalist)

57  Prabir Purkayastha  (Engineer)

58  N  Pushpamala  (Artist)

59  Imrana Qadeer (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

60  D  Raghunandan  (Delhi Science Forum)

61  Alok Rai  (Delhi University)

62  M.K. Raina  (Theatreperson)

63  R  Ramachandran    (Journalist)

64  Vidya Rao  (Editor, Singer)

65  Arundhati Roy   (Writer)

66  Rahul Roy (Indian Statistical Institute, New Delhi)

67  Kalpana Sachidanandan  ( Writer)

68  Madhu Sahni  (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

69  Tanika Sarkar  (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

70  Sumit Sarkar    (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

71  Amit Sengupta  (Journalist)

72  Amit Sengupta  (Delhi Science Forum)

73  Lakshmi Subramaniam  (Jamia Millia Islamia)

74  Nandini Sundar   (Delhi University)

75  Achin Vanaik    (Delhi University)

76  Vikram Vyas   (Delhi University)


* For more information on the Palestinian National Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions Committee (BNC), the Palestinian Call for Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS) against Israel and the global BDS movement see:
For more information on the Palestinian Campaign for the Academic and Cultural Boycott of Israel (PACBI) and its Call for Academic and Cultural Boycott of Israel, see:


Get the latest reports & analysis with people's perspective on Protests, movements & deep analytical videos, discussions of the current affairs in your Telegram app. Subscribe to NewsClick's Telegram channel & get Real-Time updates on stories, as they get published on our website.

Subscribe Newsclick On Telegram