Skip to main content
xYOU DESERVE INDEPENDENT, CRITICAL MEDIA. We want readers like you. Support independent critical media.

By-Elections in UP, Punjab, Odisha, and MP Conclude: Get key Details

The counting of votes polled in the elections will take place on May 13.
tn poll

Representational use only.

Crucial by-elections were held on May 10 across four Indian states, with each state having its own unique challenges.


In Uttar Pradesh, amid allegations by the Samajwadi Party that police were preventing voters from casting votes in some booths, the Suar seat recorded 41.78% polling, while Chhanbey recorded 39.51% till 5 pm for the Assembly bypolls. 

A total of 774 polling booths were set up by the Election Commission at 492 polling centres in the two Assembly constituencies. There were 6.62 lakh eligible voters, and a total of 14 candidates were in the fray, with six in Suar and eight in Chhanbey. 

The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party had kept away from the polls, while the Congress had fielded its candidate only in Chhanbey. The counting of votes will take place on May 13.

The Samajwadi Party said that a letter has been sent to the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), New Delhi, asking it to take cognizance of the complaints of rigging and intimidation of voters and booth capturing by the ruling party in the by-elections.

There is a direct contest between the ruling coalition and the opposition Samajwadi Party in the bypolls. 

The Suar seat in Rampur district is in focus as it was held by Abdullah Azam Khan, the son of senior SP leader Azam Khan, before it was declared vacant on February 13 after a Moradabad court sentenced him to two years in jail in a 15-year-old case. This time, the Samajwadi Party has fielded Anuradha Chauhan from the seat, and Apna Dal (Sonelal) has named Shafeek Ahmed Ansari.

The Chhanbey seat in Mirzapur fell vacant following the death of Apna Dal (Sonelal) MLA Rahul Prakash Kol in February. The party has fielded Kol's wife Rinki Kol while Kirti Kol is contesting as the Samajwadi Party candidate. Eight candidates are in the fray for this seat.


The bypoll to Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat saw a voter turnout of nearly 41% recorded till 3 pm. The seat is witnessing a four-cornered electoral battle. 

The Jalandhar constituency has 16,21,800 eligible voters, including 8,44,904 males, 7,76,855 females, and 41 third genders. Nineteen candidates, including four women, were in the fray. 

The parliamentary seat, a Dalit stronghold, fell vacant following the death of Congress MP Santokh Singh Chaudhary due to a cardiac arrest during his party's Bharat Jodo Yatra in January. 

A few incidents of scuffle and altercations were reported between the AAP and opposition party members at some booths. There are 1,972 polling stations in the constituency, and 497 of them have been identified as critical. 

The AAP has fielded former MLA Sushil Rinku, who quit the Congress, while the Congress has shown its faith in Karamjit Kaur, wife of Santokh Chaudhary. The BJP has fielded Inder Iqbal Singh Atwal, a Dalit Sikh, who quit the Akali Dal to join the saffron party. 

The SAD has fielded its two-time MLA from the Banga seat Sukhwinder Kumar Sukhi, a doctor. The SAD candidate is backed by its ally Bahujan Samaj Party. The Simranjit Singh Mann-led Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) has fielded Gurjant Singh.


A total of 55.20 % of the 2.21 lakh voters exercised their franchise till 3 pm on Wednesday in Odisha's Jharsuguda assembly constituency, an Election Commission official said.

Over 2.21 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the by-poll.

Long queues were seen in front of several polling stations even before the voting process started at 7 am. There was no report of any untoward incident across 253 polling stations, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nikunja Bihari Dhal said.

The by-election assumes significance as it will be the last poll before the 2024 general elections. The poll was necessitated following the murder of the sitting MLA and the death of then Health Minister Naba Kishore Das on January 29, 2023.

Though nine candidates are in the fray in the bypoll, the contest is mainly between the BJD, BJP and Congress.


A voter turnout of 87.39% was recorded in Sohiong by-election in Meghalaya's East Khasi Hills district till 3 pm on Wednesday, with the polling process largely being peaceful, Chief Electoral Officer F R Kharkongor said.

Voters queued in front of polling booths even before the commencement of voting at 7 am. The polling will continue till 4 pm, he said.

Voting is taking place in 3,328 polling booths, of which 1,100 have been identified as sensitive and 28 as critical. The 63 polling stations are being manned by over 300 polling officials.

The by-election was necessitated following the death of UDP candidate HDR Lyngdoh ahead of the assembly elections held in the rest of the state on February 27. Polling to Sohiong was then postponed due to Lyngdoh's death.

Six candidates are in the fray in the polls. All of them are men. The nominees are Synshar Lyngdoh Thabah of the UDP, Samlin Malngiang of the NPP, S Osborne Kharjana of the Congress, Sandondor Ryntathiang of the HSPDP, Sereph E Kharbuki of the BJP, and Stodingstar Thabah of the TMC.

The National People's Party (NPP) is seeking to win the bypoll, which will increase its seat tally in the 60-member assembly to 29.

[All inputs from PTI]

Get the latest reports & analysis with people's perspective on Protests, movements & deep analytical videos, discussions of the current affairs in your Telegram app. Subscribe to NewsClick's Telegram channel & get Real-Time updates on stories, as they get published on our website.

Subscribe Newsclick On Telegram