Skip to main content
xYOU DESERVE INDEPENDENT, CRITICAL MEDIA. We want readers like you. Support independent critical media.

Nepal’s Communist Party Merger and Steps Ahead

Since the left alliance was the vital force of recent victory, it is one of the concrete decisions that respect the mandate of the people and aspirations of thousands of cadres.

February 19 is a special day of establishment of democracy in Nepal, and it will be noted for another achievement in the history, as the Communist Party of Nepal Unified Marxist- Leninist (CPN-UML) and Communist Party of Nepal Maoist Centre (CPN MC) signed a seven-point deal for the unification of the two parties on the same Day. Since the left alliance and unification was the vital force of recent victory, it is one of the concrete decisions that respect the mandate of the people and aspirations of thousands of cadres. Now, the decision on party unification will also help to get the new government its full structures and start party unification process.

In the seven points agreement signed by CPN (UML) and the CPM (MC), the following are the basis of unification of two parties.

  1. Name of the unified party shall remain the Nepal Communist Party

  2. The guiding principle of Nepal Communist Party shall be Marxism-Leninism.

  3. The ideological line of the party shall be based on the People’s Multiparty Democracy as propounded by the then CPN-UML’s late leader Madan Bhandari.

  4. The two parties also reached an understanding to revise the People’s Multiparty Democracy adopted by the CPN-UML and Maoism followed by the CPN (MC) through due process.

  5. Based on the aforementioned conditions, the unified party shall prepare its interim political report and interim party statute.

  6. Likewise, the party shall formulate bases of socialism through safeguarding the achievements made so far. It shall strengthen nationalism, democracy and social justice and go for new economic transformation.

  7. The party shall conclude the upcoming general convention as a unity general convention.

The deal was signed by Chairman of the CPN-UML and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, senior leaders Jhalanath Khanal, Madhav Kumar Nepal, Vice-Chairman Bamdev Gautam and General Secretary Ishwar Pokharel on behalf of the CPN-UML. Those inking the agreement on behalf of the CPN(MC) included its Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ and leaders Narayan Kaji Shrestha and Ram Bahadur Thapa ‘Badal’.

Two task forces formed

Two task forces have been formed by CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center)- one on organizational merger and another on the political ideological formation. The two task forces were formed according to seven-point agreement to expedite unification and to make further recommendations to strengthen the unified party. Both the task forces include 10 members each, with five representatives from each party.

Ishwore Pokharel, Bishnu Paudel, Gokarna Bista, Bedu Ram Bhusal and Raghuveer Mahaseth have been included in the task force for the organization from UML, while Ram Bahadur Thapa, Giri Raj Mani Pokharel, Barsha Man Pun, Matrika Yadav and Janardan Sharma represent Maoist Center in the task force.

Similarly, Madhav Kumar Nepal, Bhim Rawal, Subash Chandra Nembang, Pradeep Gyawali and Raghuji Panta of UML have been included in the task force for the interim political report and interim statute. Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Dev Gurung, Shakti Basnet, Pampha Bhusal and Devendra Paudel of Maoist Center are also in the task force.

Both task forces formed on political guideline and organisational structure of the new party after unification between CPN (UML) and CPN (Maoist Centre) has been asked to submit reports within 15 days. It is expected that after the submission of report and discussion by leadership, a bigger event and formal declaration of party unification will be held before March 21.

Cabinet is likely to extend by Monday

CPN-UML and the CPN (Maoist Centre) have entrusted party leader KP Sharma Oli and a three-member team led by Pushpa Kamal Dahal to take a decision on Ministers. Prime Minister Oli is expected to expand his Cabinet on Monday.

With the left alliance poised to run the government for a full five years, there are fairly large numbers of leaders aspiring to serve as ministers in the two parties. A Standing Committee meeting of the UML, which leads the government, has entrusted PM Oli with deciding on the ministerial candidates while the CPN-Maoist Centre gave the responsibility to three top leaders on Thursday.

Recently the government has decided that there will be an 18-member cabinet, out of which 10 Ministers and PM will belong from UML and seven from MC. Previously there were 30 ministries at the central level.

Pramesh Pokharel is a political activist and a young Marxist Leninist from Nepal

Get the latest reports & analysis with people's perspective on Protests, movements & deep analytical videos, discussions of the current affairs in your Telegram app. Subscribe to NewsClick's Telegram channel & get Real-Time updates on stories, as they get published on our website.

Subscribe Newsclick On Telegram