Skip to main content
xYOU DESERVE INDEPENDENT, CRITICAL MEDIA. We want readers like you. Support independent critical media.

India Receives Direct Berth, Qualifies for 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand

The Indian Women’s cricket team became one of five sides to receive a direct entry into the 2021 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup after the International Cricket Council decided to split points evenly between teams who’s matches were affected by the Covid-19 pandemic. A World Cup Qualifier event, which will decide the final three teams, is scheduled to be played from July 3-19 in Sri Lanka.
Indian women's cricket team qualify for World Cup

India, along with New Zealand, the host of the 2021 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, and three other highest-placed teams on the points table qualified directly for the big tournament.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that the Indian team has qualified for the 2021 Women's Cricket World Cup to be held in New Zealand.

India (23 points), along with hosts New Zealand (17), Australia (37), England (29), South Africa (25) and the West Indies (13) are the five teams which have secured a direct berth for the quadrennial 50-over World up scheduled to be played from February 6 to March 7 in 2021. 

“The ICC Women’s Championship Technical Committee (TC) has decided that teams will share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship that did not take place during the competition window,” read an ICC statement.

All the eight teams in the 2017-2020 edition of the ICC Women’s Championship were supposed to play each other in a three-match series. India were scheduled to play Pakistan in a series originally scheduled to take place between July and November last year but was cancelled because government clearances were not obtained despite the efforts made by both Boards. 

Also Read | Lionesses Donate to #PlayersTogether Fund for NHS

“With respect to the India vs Pakistan series, the TC concluded that the series could not be played because of a force majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow them to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan that forms part of the ICC Women's Championship,” the statement added. 

Two more ICC Women’s Championship series have been cancelled due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic. South Africa was supposed to host Australia and Sri Lanka were supposed to host New Zealand in the last round of the matches.

The host of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021, New Zealand, and the next four highest-placed teams on the points table qualify directly for One-Day International cricket’s pinnacle event. 

Also Read | Fred Pugsley: The Anglo-Burmese Refugee Who Helped Shape the East Bengal-Mohun Bagan Rivalry

“The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is scheduled to be played from 3-19 July in Sri Lanka. This is subject to review due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The 10 teams vying for the three remaining places in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 will be the hosts, Sri Lanka, along with Pakistan and West Indies from the ICC Women’s Championship, the two other teams with ODI status, Bangladesh and Ireland, and the winners of the five regional qualifiers - Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), United States of America (Americas) and the Netherlands (Europe).” the statement concluded. 

After the announcement Poonam Yadav took to Twitter to congratulate the Indian Women’s team after a statement was released by the BCCI.

The World Cup will be played around six cities -- Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin from February 6 with the final scheduled for March 7. 

Read more sports stories from Newsclick

Get the latest reports & analysis with people's perspective on Protests, movements & deep analytical videos, discussions of the current affairs in your Telegram app. Subscribe to NewsClick's Telegram channel & get Real-Time updates on stories, as they get published on our website.

Subscribe Newsclick On Telegram