Skip to main content
xYOU DESERVE INDEPENDENT, CRITICAL MEDIA. We want readers like you. Support independent critical media.

Ahmedabad to Host 2021 ICC T20 World Cup Final: Report

Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Dharamsala and Ahmedabad have been picked as venues for 2021 ICC T20 World Cup 2021 by the BCCI. Pakistan players would be given visas to travel to the tournament, says media reports citing Board sources.
ICC T20 World Cup schedule and venues

The 2021 ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in October.

Nine cities have been chosen by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (ICC) as hosts for the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup scheduled for October. The final, reportedly, is scheduled to be held at the Motera Stadium (Narendra Modi Stadium) in Ahmedabad. 

The other venues for the seventh edition of the tournament are Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bengaluru, Hyderabad and Dharamsala. The decision was made in the BCCI apex council meeting that was held via video conferencing on Friday.

Also Read | Heath Streak Ban: Cricket Anti Corruption Units Face New Challenge From Bitcoins

Meanwhile, Pakistan cricket team players will get visas to compete in the World Cup. The apex council was informed of the same by board secretary Jay Shah following "government assurances". 

"The visa issue of Pakistan cricket team has been sorted. However, whether the fans can travel across the border to watch matches is still not clear," an Apex Council member was quoted by PTI.

"It will be decided in due course of time. However, we had promised ICC that it will be sorted. The secretary announced during the meeting."

Also Read | Olympian Ahmed Hussain No More

India and Pakistan have not played bilateral cricket for close to a decade now due to diplomatic tensions between the two countries.

Pakistan has been demanding assurances from the ICC that visas will be granted to its players for the 16-team tournament.

Ranji Trophy Back Next Season

Another major decision that was taken in the apex council was on the plans for the domestic calendar.

The BCCI plans to begin the 2021-22 domestic season in September this year with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament and has also allocated a three-month window for the Ranji Trophy from December.  The tournament was cancelled last season due to Covid-19. 

Also Read | What the AFC Champions League and FC Goa’s Debut Mean for Indian Football

However, the Duleep Trophy, Deodhar Trophy and Irani Cup are not a part of the tentative calendar prepared by the cricket operations team. Apart from this, five women's competitions have also been dropped from the roster.

The 2020-21 season was a severely truncated one with only the National T20 (Mushtaq Ali) and ODI (Vijay Hazare Trophy) championships being held in the wake of the pandemic.

For women, only the National One-Day meet was organised.

(With inputs from PTI)

Read more sports stories from Newsclick

Get the latest reports & analysis with people's perspective on Protests, movements & deep analytical videos, discussions of the current affairs in your Telegram app. Subscribe to NewsClick's Telegram channel & get Real-Time updates on stories, as they get published on our website.

Subscribe Newsclick On Telegram